The Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell and Gates Cambridge Scholarships

Click Here to Access the 2020 Statement of Interest Form

(For Fall 2020 Potential Applicants)

In 2018, Akshayaa Chittibabu (CLAS ’19) was awarded a Marshall Scholarship.  She is UConn’s fifth Marshall Scholar  (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

The Rhodes Scholarship funds 1-4 years of graduate study at the University of Oxford (UK) and is awarded to seniors and recent graduates with proven intellectual and academic achievement, integrity of character, interest in and respect for their fellow beings, the ability to lead, and the energy to use their talents to the full.

Please review all eligibility requirements and rules on the official Rhodes Scholarship website.


The Marshall Scholarship funds 1-3 (typically 2) years of graduate study at any university in the UK (including Oxford) and is awarded to seniors and recent graduates who demonstrate exceptional academic merit, leadership potential and ambassadorial potential.

Please review all eligibility requirements and rules on the official Marshall Scholarship website.


The Mitchell Scholarship funds one year of graduate study in Ireland or Northern Ireland and is awarded to seniors or graduates who demonstrate evidence of significant achievement in three areas: scholarship, leadership, and commitment to community and public service.

Please review all eligibility requirements and rules on the official Mitchell Scholarship website.


The Gates Cambridge Scholarship, which funds graduate study at the University of Cambridge (UK), does not require nomination. It is, however, equally prestigious and competitive. Students who wish to be considered for this award must apply directly to the University of Cambridge by October 15.

Please review all eligibility requirements and rules on the official Gates Cambridge Scholarship website and visit ONSF or work with a faculty member for guidance through the process.


(For any of these prestigious scholarships, you are encouraged to make an appointment with Vin Moscardelli, Director of ONSF, to discuss your eligibility before you apply for nomination.)

How to Apply in 2020-21

To enter the Rhodes, Marshall, and/or Mitchell Scholarship competitions at the national level, you must first be nominated by the University of Connecticut through a process managed by the Office of National Scholarships and Fellowships.

To be considered for nomination, you must complete the following:

  • Complete the “Intent to Apply” form linked at the top of this page before the May 31, 2020 deadline. (If you wish to apply after the statement of intent is due, please Email Vin Moscardelli to discuss your candidacy and get further instructions.)
  • Submit complete internal applications (submission instructions to follow) by 4:00pm, Thursday, August 27, 2020. (Note that while most of these applications require 4-8 letters of recommendation, potential applicants only need to submit three letters by the time of this campus deadline.)

A faculty review panel will review the application materials and interview a subset of the strongest candidates.  From this group, the committee selects the eventual nominees who will advance to the national competitions.  The external deadlines for Rhodes, Marshall and Mitchell are typically on or around October 1 of each year.



Recent Scholars & Finalists from the University of Connecticut (and semester of application)

Wanjiku Gatheru
Rhodes Scholar,  Fall 2019
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2019

Akshayaa Chittibabu
Marshall Scholar, Fall 2018

Jessica Weaver
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2018

Hope Whitelock
Gates-Cambridge Finalist, Fall 2017

Elizabeth Charash
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2017
Mitchell Finalist, Fall 2017

Antonio Campelli
Marshall Scholar, Fall 2015

Julianne Norton
Mitchell Scholar, Fall 2014

Peter J. Larson
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2014

Patrick Lenehan
Rhodes Finalist,  Fall 2014
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2014

Mary (Molly) Rockett
Rhodes Finalist, Fall 2014
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2014

Rose Cersonsky
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2013

Ethan L. Butler
2013 Marshall Scholar
(Fall 2012 competition)

W. David Lindsay
Rhodes Finalist, Fall 2011

Katherine Tsantiris
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2011

Kathleen Stewart
Gates Cambridge Finalist, Fall 2011

Margaret McCarthy
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2010

Simone Hill
Rhodes Finalist, Fall 2010
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2010

Michelle (Prairie) Parlos
2009 Marshall Scholar
(Fall 2008 competition)

J. Stephen Ferketic
Mitchell Finalist, Fall 2007

Lara Batey
Marshall Finalist, Fall 2005