Four UConn Students Named Goldwater Scholars

The University of Connecticut has produced four Goldwater Scholars in 2019 – marking the first time the school has had four winners in a single year. The Goldwater Scholarship is considered the nation’s premier scholarship for undergraduates studying math, natural sciences, and engineering. Schools can nominate a maximum of four students per year.

The students are: sophomore Berk Alpay ’21 (ENG, CLAS) of Storrs, Connecticut, a computer science and mathematics majors with a statistics minor; and juniors Ariane Garrett ’20 (ENG, CLAS) of Pleasant Valley, New York, a biomedical engineering and Spanish major; Saurabh Kumar ’20 (CLAS), of North Andover, Massachusetts, a physiology and neurobiology major with a minor in statistics; and Sam Markelon ’20 (ENG), of Burlington, Connecticut, a computer science major with a minor in mathematics.

Continue reading at UConn Today . . . .

This entry was posted in News.